DUI Consequences

Utah Is Serious About Drunk Driving

Utah has some of the toughest DUI laws in the nation. People arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) in Utah face severe criminal and civil penalties, which may include a jail or prison sentence, probation, driver's license suspension, court-ordered alcohol counseling, placement of an ignition lock device, thousands of dollars of court fines, and an auto insurance rate hike.

DUI - First And Second Offense

A first time or second time DUI offense without any aggravating factors is a class B misdemeanor offense that carries a maximum jail sentence of up to 6 months in jail and a driver's license suspension of up to 120 days. More severe penalties may be imposed if aggravating factors are present, including physical damage to another driver. [Utah Code 41-6a-503]

Felony DUI

If you are charged with your third DUI in ten years, you are facing felony DUI charges. A third DUI conviction in ten years is a class three felony, subject to a maximum penalty of up to 5 years in prison [Utah Code 41-6a-503]

Refusal To Test

If you are arrested for DUI and refuse to take a breath test, your driver's license can be suspended for a considerable period of time. An 18 month suspension may be imposed for a first refusal and a 24 month suspension may be imposed for a second refusal to test. In addition, you face criminal penalties if convicted of the DUI charges.

Protect Your Rights

If you have been charged with a DUI in Utah, contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at the law offices of Kristopher K. Greenwood & Associates. Our experienced criminal defense lawyers have helped many people throughout the state protect their driver's license, record and freedom.

Contact Our Law Office In Ogden, Utah

If you need an aggressive defense to a DUI charge, contact our law office in Ogden right now! We offer a free consultation to discuss your case. Visit our DUI defense page on this site to learn more about our proven record of results in DUI cases.