At approximately 7 a.m. on a recent Thursday, a school bus in Utah was involved in an accident. At the time, only the unidentified driver, a school bus aide and one student, age 13, were on board. The driver was taken into custody on suspicion of DUI.
After an alleged domestic confrontation, a Utah man drove away from the situation. Allegedly, he sped up to nearly 60 mph as he approached an intersection. Police say that when he sped through the intersection against a red light, he hit another vehicle, which began a chain reaction accident that ultimately involved nine vehicles. That alleged DUI accident led the death of a 43-year-old mother and the critical injury of her 16-year-old daughter. Seven others in the other vehicles suffered minor injuries.
A conviction for driving under the influence here in Utah can cost you the loss of your driver's license, up to 180 days in jail and thousands in fines. For this reason, the events surrounding your arrest on suspicion of DUI are critical. Therefore, there are some things that you should and should not do if you are pulled over for a traffic stop.
Utah residents may not be aware of statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration indicate that Halloween is a dangerous holiday for motorists. The numbers indicate that more people die in DUI-related crashes on this holiday than die in the same type of crashes on New Year's Eve. If Halloween is on a Friday or Saturday, those numbers rise by as much as 40 percent.
On a recent night at the end of September, a BMX racer from Utah was out for a bicycle ride. At some point, he was struck from behind by a car and died. The driver of that car was taken into custody on suspicion of DUI.
Some Utah residents may have heard that refusing to take a breath test when suspected of driving under the influence makes it more difficult for prosecutors to prove impairment. That may be true, but it also may not stop you from facing a DUI charge. Further, there are risks involved with such a refusal.
The Utah Highway Patrol recently reported a tragedy that befell a family of four on their way out-of-state for the weekend to go camping. As the family headed west on Interstate 80, another vehicle approached from the east in their vehicle's lanes of traffic. The driver in that eastbound car was arrested and is now charged in connection with the alleged DUI-related deaths of three of the four family members in the head-on collision that resulted from the man driving the wrong way.
Memorial Day weekend marked the beginning of what the Utah Highway Patrol likes to call the 100 deadliest days of summer. It is estimated from Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day, as many as 96 people will die on the state's roadways. In an effort to reduce that number, extra DUI patrols could become a fixture -- at least during those 100 days.
The holidays are filled with celebrations, and many of the parties that Utah residents attend provide an opportunity to enjoy alcoholic beverages. As most everyone knows, it can be easy to have too much to drink at these types of celebrations, and that increases the risk of someone driving drunk. In recent years, some organizations provide their services free of charge to partygoers to ensure they get home safely and avoid the possibility of being arrested for DUI.
On Sept. 1, 2013, a Utah woman was driving under the influence. In the early morning hours of that day, she collided with another vehicle, and the driver of the other car died as a result of the injuries she suffered in the DUI-related crash. Witnesses told law enforcement officials that they saw a car similar to the woman's blowing through a stop sign. The vehicle appeared to be traveling at speeds near 80 mph the posted speed limit was only 30 mph -- prior to the accident.