Have You Been Arrested For Assault In Utah?
Utah prosecutors take crimes of violence very seriously. If you have been charged with assault or battery, do not take your charges lightly. Even if you were involved in a relatively minor incident where no one was seriously injured, you could still be convicted of a crime.
Understanding The Circumstances
We know that there is always more to the story, and we are committed to looking into your personal circumstances in every case. Our Ogden assault and battery defense lawyers offer dedicated and highly aggressive representation for people facing misdemeanor and felony assault charges. We handle all assault and battery charges, including:
- Simple assault
- Aggravated assault
- Assault against a peace officer
- Terroristic threats
- Domestic violence
We know that an assault or battery arrest can occur in a number of contexts, including a bar fight, road rage incident or physical dispute that erupts at a private residence. Regardless of how or where it occurs, an arrest for assault or battery is a serious matter, and we will provide you with serious legal representation. Call our office at (801) 475-8800 to learn more about how we can help you and your family through this challenging time.
Levels Of The Charge
In Utah, an assault/battery charge may be a misdemeanor or a felony. A simple assault charge is a Class B misdemeanor, but may be elevated to a Class A misdemeanor if the victim suffers serious bodily injury or the victim is pregnant and the assailant knows of the pregnancy. A person may be charged with aggravated assault, a felony, if he or she intends to cause serious bodily injury to the victim or uses a deadly weapon in the commission of the assault.
These charges mean that you could be facing anywhere from six months in jail to 15 years in prison, not to mention fines ranging from $1,000 to $10,000. If you want an attorney who will work diligently to protect your rights, record and freedom, contact our law offices today.