Kristopher K. Greenwood & Associates
Salt Lake City – Ogden
Kristopher K. Greenwood & Associates

Salt Lake City – Ogden

We Fight To Win

Experienced Divorce and Family Law Attorneys Serving All of Utah

Multiple DUI

Utah takes DUI charges very seriously. For individuals charged with multiple DUI offenses, the consequences are much steeper. If you have been arrested and charged with your second, third or fourth DUI in Utah, it is critical that you hire a skilled and highly trained DUI defense lawyer as soon as possible. Having a strong advocate on your side is critical to handling the charges effectively with as little disruption to your life as possible.

Since 1999, the lawyers at Kristopher K. Greenwood & Associates have been providing aggressive representation to individuals charged with DUI in Ogden and the Salt Lake City area. Our advantage is our preparation. We conduct a detailed investigation, examining the police reports, dash cam videos, witness statements and other evidence to determine whether our clients’ constitutional rights have been violated.

Get help for your multiple DUI charges right away. Before giving any statement to the police, call one of our experienced DUI defense lawyers at (801) 475-8800.

Understanding How Utah Handles Repeat DUI Offenses

Multiple DUI offenses are serious. In Utah, a DUI is an enhanceable offense. This means that you may be charged with a more serious offense if you have been charged with the same crime before.

Second offense — If you have two DUIs within a 10-year period, the mandatory minimum sentence is 10 days in jail. In addition, your driver’s license will be suspended for a year and you will have a minimum fine of $800. The fine does not include the cost of impound fees, increased insurance premiums, license reinstatement fees, alcohol education classes and treatment costs.

Third offense — If you have three DUIs within 10 years, the offense will be charged as a felony DUI offense. The mandatory minimum sentence is 62 days and could face as much as five years in prison. Your driver’s license will be suspended for two years and you will face fines starting at $1,500. You may also face the seizure of your vehicle.

All DUIs in Utah will require you to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. This device prevents you from starting your car unless you have blown into it to verify that you are not intoxicated.

These harsh penalties do not mean you are without options. It is understandable that you may not want your employer or even certain family members to be aware of your DUIs. Our attorneys will always work to have your charges dismissed. In the event that we are unable to have the charges thrown out, we will do everything we can to minimize your consequences and protect your reputation.

Call Kristopher K. Greenwood & Associates Now for Repeat DUI Help

The attorneys at Kristopher K. Greenwood & Associates provide aggressive DUI defense. We will first work to identify any potential constitutional challenges or other technicalities that may warrant dismissal. In the event that we cannot have the case against you thrown out, we will negotiate with prosecutors to try and find an acceptable plea deal. If that is unsuccessful, we will not hesitate to go to trial.

Over the years, our attorneys have built strong reputations among prosecutors and judges. We are respected for the work that we do. If you are facing repeat DUI charges, you cannot afford to go it alone. Call our attorneys at (801) 475-8800 or reach us online by completing our contact form.