The state of Utah considers driving under the influence a serious concern for its residents. For this reason, the penalties associated with DUIs increase with the number of offenses. Therefore, if you are charged with a DUI for a second or third time, it is imperative that you engage criminal defense counsel as soon as possible to protect your rights.
A DUI might remain on your record for more than 10 years, but at the expiration of that time from your first conviction, you can once again be treated as a first-time offender. However, if you are convicted of two DUIs within that 10-year period, you will spend a minimum of 10 days in jail. Your driver’s license will be suspended for a year, and you will be assessed fines of at least $800.
If you are convicted of driving under the influence for a third time within 10 years, you will be charged with a felony DUI. Not only will your driver’s license be suspended for a full two years, but you will also be facing fines of no less than $1,500. Officials could also order the seizure of your vehicle. This is on top of the fact that you will spend at least 62 days in jail, which is the mandatory minimum. Regardless of how many DUIs you have within the 10 years, every conviction comes with an ignition interlock system.
Being charged with a DUI can adversely affect your life, both professionally and personally, but these enhanced penalties can do even more harm. Therefore, your attorney should work diligently to minimize the effects that a second or third DUI will have on your future. Every aspect of your contact with Utah officials from the traffic stop to your first court appearance will be scrutinized. The evidence will be examined, witnesses will be questioned and a review of dash camera footage and reports will need to be done in advance of going to court to determine whether any mistakes were made that violated your rights.