One conviction for being impaired behind the wheel here in Utah comes with both short-term and long-term penalties. One of the long-term consequences of a DUI conviction is that, if you are arrested on a subsequent drunk driving charge, the offense is considered more serious. This often means more penalties and other repercussions if you are convicted.
If you are arrested for a second DUI within 10 years of the first one, you face mandatory jail time of 10 days, a yearlong suspension of your driver’s license and fines of at least $800 if you are convicted. Those are just the short-term costs of a second DUI conviction. Other costs include increased insurance rates, fees to reinstate your license and the cost of the installation and upkeep of an ignition interlock device.
A third DUI arrest within 10 years is charged as a felony. You could spend between 62 days in jail and five years in prison if you are convicted. The suspension of your license is increased to two years and the fines go up to a minimum of $1,500 as well. Again, you would be required to use an ignition interlock device.
The aim of a Utah DUI attorney should be to get the charges against you dismissed by examining the evidence, dash camera videos and witness statements to determine whether any mistakes were made or if your rights were violated. If a dismissal is not possible, a reduction of the charges might be. Every option needs to be explored in order to provide you with the best possible resolution of the charges that will have the least impact on your life.